Skip to content

While I was sleeping…

November 27, 2008

While I was sleeping
Mumbai was returning home
As were its tired and sleepy souls
Theirs was a routine journey
So should have been their homecoming
But little did they know
They will be scarred again
In a way like never before.

Mourn No More

Mourn No More

While I was sleeping
Bullets were fired
By cowards and liars
Self-righteous mercenaries of terror
The bullets pierced bodies
Whose souls went to meet their maker
To ask Him, “Why us?”
To ask Him, “What gave them the right?”

While I was sleeping
Symbols of Mumbai were burnt
Guests of the city were taken hostage
To be used as human shields
The same shields they chose to tear
The same shields they now wear
Conscience is not what you look for
In these agents of death.

While I was sleeping
While I was dreaming
Mumbai was burning
Mumbai was bleeding
At those very places I have once been
I can imagine how it would have been
If imagining the ordeal is so painful
I will be lying if I told you
“I know how it feels.”

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2008 8:24 am

    Americans are concerned, what is happening now. What is your perspective?

  2. November 27, 2008 10:43 am

    This is shocking!

  3. Princess permalink
    November 27, 2008 1:56 pm

    I terribly sad coz my loved ones are in that city of dreams. I hope the city of dreams revives and never faces any more torture neither from nature nor from animals who call themselves humans.

    😦

    Mumbai is a little India with members from the nook of corner of India..

  4. November 27, 2008 10:49 pm

    @R
    I hope the site I send you in mail helped.

    @Vishesh
    Yes. It will take us time to come out of the shock.

    @Princess
    It will live for sure. Never the same way again though.

  5. November 28, 2008 6:25 pm

    very good lines… but the grief cant be covered fully… the last two lines are true by all means.

  6. November 29, 2008 1:28 pm

    whatever happened was just shocking!!! dont know how to react even…… 😦
    last two lines are just true…..

  7. November 29, 2008 6:50 pm

    I will be lying if I told you
    “I know how it feels.”

    This is so true, really. I sat up 2 whole days watching everything on television. It was like a live movie or something.

    Those terrorists we actually pretty young, at that! One was like, 21 years or something. I could have never imagined people could be made to do such horrifying stuff !!

  8. November 29, 2008 7:34 pm

    @All
    I think we are all unanimous on this. It was terrifying. You call up a friend and you hear gunfire in the background. It’s terrifying on the phone. It is impossible to explain what’s been going through the minds of people who were stuck in there. Never before have we all been so outspoken about the fact that we have had enough. Not one big city was spared this year. This was the last straw in the camel’s back. We have to keep reminding the decision makers that we can’t be taken for granted.

    PS: In Mumbai, we are planning to wear black on Monday as a show of solidarity with the victims and slain soldiers and commandos, and protest against the ill-governance. Try and spread the word in your cities too if possible!

  9. soulcoholicanonymous permalink
    November 30, 2008 7:51 am

    Its really a nightmare.

    Time to wake up and think …

    http://soulcoholicanonymous.wordpress.com/2008/11/29/a-new-end-or-an-old-beginning/

    I want to be a part of this community.

Leave a Reply

