Skip to content

A Coloured Poem

August 18, 2008

I got this poem in a forward and I must say it really touched me. It’s both hilarious and loaded with meaning.

I’ve never really liked or enjoyed poetry, but this is fantastic.

This poem, written by an African boy, was nominated for the best poem in 2005.

When I born, I black.
When I grow up ,i black.
When I go in Sun, I black.
When I scared, I black.
When I sick, I black.
And when I die, Im still black.

And u white fella,
when u born, u pink.
When u grow up, u white.
When u go in sun, u red.
When u cold, u blue.
When u scared, u yellow.
When sick, ugreen.
And when u die, u gray……

And u calling ME coloured???

Racism still exists in many forms in our society today. It’s upto us- the youth of the world, to wipe it off the face of the earth.

Racism prevails in India as well. There was a report in Deccan Herald about three years ago, where a group of Kenyan exchange students said that they faced a lot of discrimination in India, no different from what they face in Europe and the US. This is not the image we want of our country.

Let us all take the UN pledge against racism and rid our society of this bane.

The UN personal pledge against racism:

As a young citizen of the world community,

I stand with the United Nations against

racism, discrimination and intolerance of any kind.

Throughout my life I will try to promote equality, justice and

dignity among all people in my home, my community and

everywhere in the world.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2008 9:05 pm

    nice post…i stand for it 🙂

  2. August 19, 2008 3:32 am

    Don’t go to Deccan Herald. Casteism is also racism and we see in India..

  3. August 19, 2008 9:35 am

    @pria
    ya….that’s true…the deccan herald thing was just to quote an example. But yeah, racism and discrimination are basically the same…

  4. August 19, 2008 9:36 am

    @vishesh
    thanx!!
    Finally, my first post on yu!!

  5. August 19, 2008 11:51 am

    Nice post.. have read that poem before…!!

    what is color…. just some pigments on our skin..
    so,why make such a big deal of it!! 🙂

  6. August 19, 2008 5:20 pm

    Very very nice post! And your first one on YU at that!! I too fell that racism exists in India too.

    //As a young citizen of the world community,

    I stand with the United Nations against

    racism, discrimination and intolerance of any kind.

    Throughout my life I will try to promote equality, justice and

    dignity among all people in my home, my community and

    everywhere in the world.//

  7. August 19, 2008 5:48 pm

    Good post. Wonderful poem by the kid.

  8. August 20, 2008 3:40 pm

    i see it grey

  9. August 25, 2008 3:11 pm

    @priya
    thanx!!
    yes, racism does exist in India, and we must do something about it…
    For starters, we could take the UN pledge and prevent it if and when we see it happen….

    @Reema
    thanx!!

    @burf
    lol! ya…but it’s still an awesome poem!!

  10. August 31, 2008 5:50 pm

    Nice one… keep it up… for some more fun kindly visit http://www.gujarati.tk
    Regards,

  11. narmadha permalink
    October 29, 2009 3:47 pm

    india is a racist country…the funny thing is i find racism and discrimination not only in north indian i find racism even amidst south indians… racism in schools… in selecting children for programmes….in selecting the teachers who are the ushers for the annual programme…. it is as though the colour black should be shoved under the carpet…. it is pathetic to know that they are teachers….. now they will lead and teach the students to a new age of racists…..

  12. narmadha permalink
    October 29, 2009 3:49 pm

    The UN personal pledge against racism:

    As a young citizen of the world community,

    I stand with the United Nations against

    racism, discrimination and intolerance of any kind.

    Throughout my life I will try to promote equality, justice and

    dignity among all people in my home, my community and

    everywhere in the world.

  13. krish permalink
    October 29, 2009 7:03 pm

    The color of a person is what he gets from birth. He can’t do anything to change it… whether he likes it or not. So the external beauty doesn’t really matter. It’s the internal beauty which a person nurtures within him/herself. So have a glance at that beauty and then judge that person..

    Good Day

Leave a Reply

