Skip to content

Thieving Bastards!

June 9, 2008

Author: Nikhil

I know this isn’t the usual time for me to post in this forum, but I can’t help but bring this incident that happened in the workplace today. There’s a woman who works here as a maid, cleans up the place, serves the coffee and tea everyday and generally makes sure that everyone needs whatever they need to work happily. We all call her “auntie” affectionately. This morning, she came in to office teary-eyed and seemed very depressed. I asked her what the matter was. She replied that her father-in-law had passed away and that she has to attend the funeral and take care of the formalities. I felt very sorry for her and told her so. I went back to working when a few minutes later, she came to me and said, “Have you seen my phone anywhere?”

I was like, “Uh, no auntie. Where did you keep it?”

She said that she had kept the phone near the tea and coffee vending machines and started sweeping the office floor. When she returned, her phone wasn’t there anymore. I was shocked. I went to that place and searched around and asked everyone in office if they has seen the phone anywhere. No one had even been near the pantry and they didn’t know of anyone from the outside had come in. There’s only one way to enter the office and that’s from the front, and people would have seen if someone entered.

So, I was thoroughly shocked to find that the phone wasn’t anywhere in the office. We searched all over the place in vain. It was, of course, unthinkable to imagine that anyone in office could have stolen auntie’s phone. But still, the fact that someone took the phone filled me with rage!

She’s cried buckets and said, “Mu husband got that phone for our daughter with his first salary. He will scold me now! What do I do?”

I felt thoroughly helpless. I consoled her as best I could and told her that such things happen and that the best way to deal with them is to be practical. I advised her to go and file a police complaint and to cancel her number with the service provider. She’s still shaken and for obvious reasons, isn’t talking to anyone in office. But amazingly, she goes on her daily functions like serving tea and cleaning without any lack in efficiency.

I am shocked by this incident! To steal from anyone is an inexcusable crime, but stealing from this poor woman something to which she has such obvious sentimental attachment is just plain savegery! Shame on those who did this hideous crime! It may seem that I am being a bit too over-reactive, but I don’t really care! I am as angry as I can ever be!

I have made up my mind to buy a new phone for auntie this week, and feel very guilty about the whole ordeal. She deserved better, this woman. She has given her heart and soul to this office (she’s been here for like 6 years!) and this is how she’s rewarded! I am not accusing the people in the office, I’m just lashing out at who ever has done this crime! Go to hell, you thieving bastards!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2008 6:35 pm

    what phone was it …good thing,buy her a phone 😀

  2. June 9, 2008 7:47 pm

    Well thats just sick! how could someone even think of doing something like that?

  3. June 10, 2008 10:27 am

    V nice of u to buy her a phone. I cant understand how can ppl just lift someone else’s stuff and live without a guilty conscience? U know we had a lecturer in our college who used to steal money, books from staff rooms. Atlast he was apprehended and asked to resign.

  4. June 10, 2008 2:50 pm

    @Nikhil:
    hats off to u…

  5. June 13, 2008 12:38 pm

    oh i wonder the person who took the phone is a real sicko.

  6. June 13, 2008 12:38 pm

    I meant he is a REAL SICKO !!!

  7. June 13, 2008 12:39 pm

    or SHE !

  8. June 13, 2008 1:32 pm

    Once a high end Windows mobile phone got stolen at my office. These are the phones/music players we work on everyday.. and guess what, one of the housekeepers had flicked it…
    luckily we got it back when he pretended to find it, while searching some desks..

  9. June 13, 2008 2:47 pm

    Very nice of Nikhil bhai to do ths. Cheers. And let me contribute few precious kicks to push that bastard in hell.

Leave a Reply

