Skip to content

Little Things

May 23, 2008

Author : Priya

Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass…

It’s about learning to Dance in the Rain.

Are we missing out on the simple joys of life while caught up between school work, office work and other issues ?? We are all in the middle of a huge rat-race trying to catch up with our families, assignments, projects, taxes, tension and other pressures, that we forget to stop for a while and appreciate the small things in life.

Have you ever thanked your mom for all the endless things she’s ever done to you ?

Have you thanked your Dad for always believing in you and asking you to take those risks ? Have you ever told him how much you love him for having supported you when you were broken ?

Have you appreciated the fact that there is a new day everyday – with new goals and a new hope ?

We need to appreciate all the little things that make up our worlds. After all, little things add up to be one BIG thing. When you look back and think about all the happy moments, its the little things that your going to remember. Small fights with your siblings, dancing in the rain, those small family moments that you used to have with your family during the night, childhood days, those small crushes at school, having sleep overs at your best friends place, your food disasters, talking randomly to your pet and watching its eyes see your face with emotion, seeing the flowers bloom in your garden, and this list can go on and on.

When I spoke to my Dad over the phone today, I just couldn’t stop thinking about my childhood days when he used to drop me to the bus-stop every single day. I’d never thanked him for that. I also remember how my mom used to spread the bedsheet over me while I’d falen asleep studying on the bed during night. In the middle of all the chaos of Life, we forget to stop by and thank those who mean the most to us. We forget to aprreciate the little things. 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. i make money online permalink
    May 23, 2008 1:13 pm

    thanks for reminding me to thank my family, too 🙂 stay cool!

  2. May 23, 2008 1:23 pm

    beautiful post priya 🙂 yes small things make a huge difference..many of do forget about small things,but a 5 year doesn’t and i try to be a 5 yr old always 🙂

  3. May 23, 2008 2:13 pm

    So, you post finally!! hehe….
    I constantly fight with my folks… and I get drenched in rain almost everyday, so i dont think i can forget the small things in life that easily! 😀

  4. May 23, 2008 2:24 pm

    @ i make money online – Thats te one thing we all forget to do no matter how close we are to them.

    @ Vishesh : Don’t we have so much to learn from children ? I mean, we are all children in a sort of a way but they keep reminding us how little things can make big difference.

    @ Nikhil : “blah………”

  5. May 25, 2008 11:27 am

    When I was a kid, my grandmother used to pick me up from school. I never thought of thanking her for it. I cannot do it now as she is no more 😦

    But yes, the next time you walk out of a lift, thank the boy who operates the lift. You will be surprised to see that he would be pleasantly shocked!

  6. May 27, 2008 11:50 am

    We really forget to admire the little things everyday. Nice post Priya.

  7. May 30, 2008 7:47 pm

    Wow! nice post..
    I thanked my mom… but didn’t thanked my dad…. But he’s my role model…. Have to thank him someday for everything he did to me…..

  8. June 4, 2008 12:18 pm

    awww..
    Last night while driving back home i was thinking about how i’ve never thanked my parents for innumerable things they do/did..
    and now i read your post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

